Isaac Quaynor during the 2022 AFL Round 1 match between St Kilda and Collingwood (Photo by Cameron Grimes / Zero Digital Media)

The AFL have confirmed the 18 runners for the 2022 Grand Final sprint.

The sprint will be held before the opening bounce of Saturday's matchup between Sydney and Geelong, with the race to take place over 100 metres.

Every club will have one representative, with the Cats nominating young tall Shannon Neale, while the Swans will have the uncapped Corey Warner, brother of star midfielder Chad, run for the Bloods.

Magpies dasher Isaac Quaynor, Crows tough nut Sam Berry, Saints veteran Brad Hill and Tigers defender Hugo Ralphsmith are also among the participants.

AFL sponsor Colgate will make a $5000 donation to the Ladder Project Foundation - an organisation that looks to improve the lives of young people experiencing disadvantage - on behalf of the winner.

The 2021 sprint was compiled of only West Coast and Fremantle players given the grand final was held in Western Australia amid strict border restrictions, with Eagle Josh Rotham winning the race.

Past winners include Ben King, Jordan Clark, Connor Menadue, Majak Daw, Jordan Murdoch and Patrick Dangerfield, who won it in three successive years.

2022 Grand Final sprint participants 

Adelaide - Sam Berry
Brisbane - Darcy Wilmot
Carlton - Matthew Cottrell
Collingwood - Isaac Quaynor
Essendon - Jake Kelly
Fremantle - Karl Worner
Geelong - Shannon Neale
Gold Coast - Mabior Chol
GWS - Leek Aleer
Hawthorn - James Blanck
Melbourne - Kade Chandler
North Melbourne - Luke McDonald
Port Adelaide - Miles Bergman
Richmond - Hugo Ralphsmith
St Kilda - Brad Hill
Sydney - Corey Warner
West Coast - Patrick Naish
Western Bulldogs - Laitham Vandermeer