GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 25: Best on ground, Erin Phillips of the Crows poses for a photograph during the 2017 AFLW Grand Final match between the Brisbane Lions and the Adelaide Crows at Metricon Stadium on March 25, 2017 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Adelaide star Erin Phillips has been crowned the inaugural AFLW Players’ Association MVP.

Phillips, who also won the award for best on ground in the grand final on Saturday, finished the peer-voted count on 204 votes, with Melbourne’s Karen Paxman (149 votes) second and Carlton’s Darcy Verscio (132 votes) coming in third.

“I had no expectations. I haven’t played for a long time. I really wanted to enjoy this year and not take it for granted. It’s something that I never thought would come around,” Phillips said.

Phillips will return to America next month to continue her basketball career with WNBA side, Dallas Wings.

Meanwhile, Demons’ captain, Daisy Pearce, was voted the best captain and Adelaide’s Chelsea Randall the most courageous player.

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA – FEBRUARY 25: Daisy Pearce of the Demons celebrates the win on the final siren during the round four Women’s AFL match between the Melbourne Demons and the Carlton Blues at Casey Fields on February 25, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)