MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 08: Cyril Rioli of the Hawks celebrates kicking a goal during the round three AFL match between the Richmond Tigers and the Hawthorn Hawks at Melbourne Cricket Ground on April 8, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Brett Hemmings/Getty Images)

Cyril Rioli is pulling on the boots to participate in this year’s Fox Footy Longest Kick competition.

Rioli announced his retirement mid-season, but will return to Melbourne to aim to kick the Sherrin across the Yarra River.

Rioli will be joined by former teammate Jack Gunston, No. 1 draft pick Cam Rayner and Carlton’s Jack Silvangi.

Wildcard James Pennycuik will line up for the third year in a row.

But the favourite to win the competition is former Tiger Ben Griffiths.

Griffiths is about to embark on a US college career as a punter with the University of South California.

GWS co-captain Phil Davis and Essendon’s Zach Merrett will also feature in this year’s longest kick, along with AFLW stars Katie Brennan and Sabrina Frederick-Traub.

Last year Carlton champion Brendan Fevola won the competition with a 66.1m torpedo. Bryce Gibbs (2016) and Drew Petrie (2015) are the other two previous winners.

The Fox Footy Longest Kick will begin at 10am (AEST) on Grand Final day at Birrarung Marr.


1. Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn)

2. Ben Griffiths (Richmond)

3. Jack Silvagni (Carlton)

4. Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs)

5. Jack Gunston (Hawthorn)

6. Cam Rayner (Brisbane Lions)

7. Mitch Duncan (Geelong)

8. Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Brisbane Lions)

9. Phil Davis (GWS Giants)

10. Zach Merrett (Essendon)

11. James Pennycuik (Wildcard)