MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 12: Marcus Bontempelli of the Bulldogs celebrates after kicking a goal during the round 21 AFL match between the North Melbourne Kangaroos and the Western Bulldogs at Etihad Stadium on August 12, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

The AFLPA 22 under 22 team has been released, with the Western BulldogsMarcus Bontempelli earning a record fifth straight selection.

Bontempelli was named skipper of the side, with Melbourne’s Clayton Oliver serving as his deputy.

The three favourites to claim today’s Rising Star award all earned positions on the field, including Collingwood’s Jaiydn Stephenson, Brisbane’s Alex Witherden and Adelaide’s Tom Doedee.

Other prominent young stars featuring in the side include Swan Isaac Heeney, Blue Charlie Curnow, Magpie Jordan De Goey and Bomber Zach Merrett.

Exciting Lions Harris Andrews and Eric Hipwood hold down the key position stocks at either end of the ground.

Dockers big man Sean Darcy was named in the ruck, with Bontempelli, Merrett and Oliver joining him on the ball.

The 40-man squad was chosen by the AFL Players’ Board, with fans then selecting the final 22 via the AFLPA website.

Players from Geelong, Gold Coast, GWS, Hawthorn, North Melbourne, Port Adelaide and West Coast were not represented.

The 22 under 22

B: Alex Witherden (BL), Harris Andrew (BL), Andrew McGrath (ESS)

HB: Conor McKenna (ESS), Tom Doedee (ADE), Jayden (RIC)

C: Angus Brayshaw (MEL), Clayton Oliver (vc), (MEL) Isaac Heeney (SYD)

HF: Jade Gresham (STK), Charlie Curnow (CAR), Jordan De Goey (COL)

SEE ALSO:  The top five out of contract players for 2019

F: Ben Ronke (SYD) Eric Hipwood (BL), Jaidyn Stephenson (COL)

FOL: Sean Darcy (FRE), Marcus Bontempelli (c) (WB), Zach Merrett (ESS)

IC: Ed Langdon (FRE), Christian Petracca (MEL), Tom Phillips (COL), Dan Butler (RIC)

Players that missed out from the 40-man squad

Tim English (Western Bulldogs), Wayne Milera (Adelaide), Lachie Weller (Gold Coast Suns), Dougal Howard (Port Adelaide), Bailey Williams (Western Bulldogs), Bayley Fritsch (Melbourne), Alex Neal-Bullen (Melbourne), Will Hayward (Sydney), Billy Gowers (Western Bulldogs), Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane), Zac Fisher (Carlton), Touk Miller (Gold Coast), Tim Taranto (GWS Giants), Jacob Hopper (GWS Giants), James Harmes (Melbourne), Jack Steele (St Kilda), Toby McLean (Western Bulldogs)