MELBOURNE, VICTORIA - OCTOBER 04: Luke Hodge the captian of the Hawks poses with the 2013, 2014 and 2015 premiership trophies during the Hawthorn Hawks AFL Grand Final fan day at Glenferrie Oval on October 4, 2015 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

The AFL Record’s Ashley Browne has compiled an AFL Team of the Decade, with Hawthorn premiership skipper Luke Hodge named captain of the talented side.

Hodge is one of six Hawks to be named in the team, although that including Lance Franklin, who’s played the majority of the past decade with the Swans, after moving to Sydney from Hawthorn at the end of the 2013 season.

Joel Selwood was named as the vice-captain, with a midfield of Selwood, Gary Ablett, Dustin Martin, Sam Mitchell and Patrick Dangerfield running through the side.

Max Gawn is the only ruckman in the side, with Aaron Sandilands listed as an emergency.


FB: Corey Enright, Alex Rance, Josh Gibson
HB: Luke Hodge (captain), Jeremy McGovern, Scott Pendlebury
C: Patrick Dangerfield, Sam Mitchell, Dustin Martin
HF: Dane Swan, Nick Riewoldt, Nat Fyfe
FF: Eddie Betts, Lance Franklin, Robbie Gray
Foll: Max Gawn, Joel Selwood (vice-captain), Gary Ablett
Int: Jack Riewoldt, Jimmy Bartel, Cyril Rioli, Josh Kennedy (West Coast)
Emg: Chris Judd, Aaron Sandilands, Shaun Burgoyne, Steve Johnson