MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 15: Tom Lynch of the Suns celebrates a goal during the round four AFL match between the Carlton Blues and the Gold Coast Suns at Etihad Stadium on April 15, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Following some big name re-signings since the 2017 season ended, have released an updated list of the 2018 free agents, and some stars of the competition still headline an impressive crop of talent.

Two players who aren’t on the list anymore are Melbourne’s Max Gawn and Geelong’s Harry Taylor, after the pair re-signed with their current clubs beyond next season.

Gawn will remain at Melbourne until at least the end of the 2021 season, while Taylor added an extra year to his current deal, meaning he’s now contracted until the end of 2019.

Despite those big names now not appearing on the free agents list, a number of stars at interstate clubs will be the most sought-after, with a West Coast duo leading the way.

Star Eagles Andrew Gaff and Jeremy McGovern are two of four elite players who will be free agents once the 2018 season ends, as Adelaide champion Rory Sloane and Gold Coast co-captain Tom Lynch round out the impressive quartet.

The Eagles will arguably have the toughest time keeping all of their out of contract players, as they have a league-high six players entering free agency.

A number of clubs have five players who could depart via free agency, with both of last season’s grand finalists on that list.

SEE ALSO:  AFL announce new MRO interpretations

Four out of Adelaide’s five players took the field in the decider (Brodie Smith didn’t play due to injury), while the Tigers have three premiership players out of contract at season’s end in 2018 (Bachar Houli, Shaun Grigg, Dylan Grimes).

A total of 13 All-Australians make the list, as every club bar GWS (the Giants haven’t been in the league long enough) have at least one player who will enter free agency.


Richard Douglas
David Mackay
Andy Otten
Rory Sloane
Brodie Smith

Brisbane Lions

Rohan Bewick
Ryan Lester 


Marc Murphy
Kade Simpson 


Jarryd Blair
Alex Fasolo
Tyson Goldsack
Ben Reid
Josh Thomas


Tom Bellchambers 


Hayden Ballantyne
Michael Johnson
David Mundy
Aaron Sandilands 


Cameron Guthrie
George Horlin-Smith 

Gold Coast

Jarrod Harbrow
Tom Lynch
Tom Nicholls 


Shaun Burgoyne
Taylor Duryea
Paul Puopolo
Ryan Schoenmakers
Brendan Whitecross


Neville Jetta
Tom McDonald

North Melbourne

Shaun Atley
Scott Thompson
Sam Wright  

Port Adelaide

Justin Westhoff 


Reece Conca
Ben Griffiths
Shaun Grigg
Dylan Grimes
Bachar Houli 

St Kilda

Sam Gilbert  


Heath Grundy
Jarrad McVeigh
Nick Smith 

West Coast

Andrew Gaff
Shannon Hurn
Mark LeCras
Scott Lycett
Eric Mackenzie
Jeremy McGovern

Western Bulldogs

Luke Dahlhaus
Tom Liberatore
Dale Morris
Jordan Roughead
Mitch Wallis

SEE ALSO:  Blues confirm Sam Docherty's ACL injury