The AFL Coaches Association has revealed its 2015 All-Australian team, with some surprising selections.

Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley and Melbourne coach Paul Roos revealed the side last night on Fox Footy's AFL 360.

“Opposition scouts from about five or six different clubs got together and said this is what the make-up of a team would look like in modern day football,” Buckley said.

“I personally believe that the Coaches Association votes are about as pure effect as you can get on a game.

“If you look at the ladder board, it’s weighted towards midfielders. Coaches still believe midfielders have the biggest effect on games.

“But it’s the two coaches getting together and saying ‘you worried me the most’ versus ‘we need these guys to stand up and they did’.”

Three players who did not make the 40-man All-Australian squad were named in the squad; Zac Tuohy, Cale Hooker and Bernie Vince.

The official All-Australian team will be announced on Tuesday night.


B: Easton Wood (Bulldogs), Alex Rance (Richmond), Zach Tuohy (Carlton)

HB: Robert Murphy (Bulldogs), Cale Hooker (Essendon), Jarryd McVeigh (Sydney)

C: Dan Hannebery (Sydney), Josh Kennedy (Sydney), Andrew Gaff (West Coast)

HF: Brett Deledio (Richmond), Jake Stringer (Bulldogs), Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)

F: Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide), Josh Kennedy (West Coast), Jack Gunston (Hawthorn)

Foll: Todd Goldstein (North Melbourne), Matt Priddis (West Coast), Nat Fyfe (Fremantle)

I/C: David Mundy (Fremantle), Bernie Vince (Melbourne), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Nic Naitanui (West Coast)

Pick your own All-Australian team with our Pick Your team section

Comments are closed.